complies with certain residence requirements in the province and the electoral district of polling and who falls under no statutory disqualifications, is entitled to vote. These qualifications apply with modifications to voters in all provinces. The principal exception gives voting privileges to persons in Saskatchewan at the age of 18 and in Alberta and British Columbia at 19 years.

Subsection 1.-Newfoundland

The Government of Newfoundland consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. At May 31, 1955 Colonel the Honourable Sir Leonard Outerbridge was Lieutenant-Governor of the Province; he was commissioned on Aug. 17, 1949.

The Legislative Assembly has 28 members elected for a term of five years. The General Assembly elected Nov. 26, 1951 is the 30th in the history of Newfoundland and the 2nd since Confederation.

The Premier and each Cabinet Minister receives a salary of \$7,000 per annum plus a sessional indemnity of \$3,000. Each Member of the House of Assembly receives a sessional indemnity of \$3,000. An additional allowance of \$2,000 is made to the Leader of the Opposition.

14.—Legislatures of Newfoundland since Confederation and Ministry as at May 31, 1955 Legislatures 1949-55

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
May 27, 1949 Nov. 26, 1951	1st General Assembly	4 5	July 13, 1949 Mar. 12, 1952	Nov. 3, 1951

¹ Life of Legislature not expired at May 31, 1955.

First Ministry

Party standing at latest General Election Nov. 26, 1951: 22 Liberals; 4 Progressive Conservatives; 2 vacant.)

Note.—Date of appointment does not necessarily mean that the Minister was sworn in on date given.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier and Minister of Economic Development. Attorney General. Minister of Public Welfare. Minister of Fisheries and Co-operatives. Minister of Public Works. Minister of Labour. Minister of Labour. Minister of Health Minister of Health Minister of Municipal Affairs and Supply. Minister of Finance. Minister of Finance. Minister of Provincial Affairs Solicitor General. Minister of Natural Resources. Minister of Natural Resources. Minister without portfolio.	Hon. Gregory J. Power Hon. Myles P. Murray	Apr. 1 1949 May 21, 1952 July 29, 1949 July 29, 1949 Apr. 4, 1950 July 29, 1949 July 29, 1949 Dec. 15, 1951 Dec. 15, 1951 Dec. 15, 1951 May 21, 1952	Apr. 1, 1949 Apr. 1, 1949 Apr. 10, 1955 July 29, 1949 July 29, 1949 Dec. 23, 1952 Apr. 4, 1955 Dec. 23, 1952 Dec. 15, 1951 Dec. 15, 1951 Apr. 10, 1955 Apr. 10, 1955 Apr. 10, 1955 Apr. 10, 1955 Apr. 10, 1955 Dec. 15, 1951

Subsection 2.-Prince Edward Island

The Government of Prince Edward Island consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly.

The Honourable T. W. L. Prowse, Lieutenant-Governor of the Province at June 30, 1955, was commissioned to office on Oct. 4, 1950. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation are cited in the 1951 Year Book, p. 86.